AHS junior Jaime Scudder (right) is pictured with her Best in Show artwork and her art teacher, Elizabeth Joy.

More than $8,000 in scholarships were awarded to high school artists from AISD at the 11thAnnual Abilene Education Foundation’s Young Masters Juried Art Exhibition awards ceremony March 29 at The Grace Museum.

Jaime Scudder, a junior at Abilene High, received the Best in Show award for her oil painting of “Forming America.” Scudder is a student of AHS teacher Elizabeth Joy and received a $2,000 college scholarship for her winning entry.

Scudder’s work and artwork from 43 other Advanced Placement art students will be on display during the Young Masters Juried Art Exhibition, which runs until April 14 at The Grace. After leaving The Grace, the exhibition will move to the Abilene Teachers Federal Credit Union on Antilley Road until May 18.

Other scholarship winners are:

  • Kennedy Carmichael, CHS, first place, $1,250
  • Tatum Bohannon, AHS, second place, $1,000
  • Abigail Smith, CHS, third place, $750
  • Ivan Martinez, CHS, merit award, $500
  • Chloe Batten, AHS, merit award, $500
  • Lyric Kincaid, AHS, merit award, $500
  • Kenzie Fortson, CHS, Martha Kiel Merit Winner, $500
  • Matthew Shira, CHS, honorable mention, $250
  • Kennedy Underwood, CHS, honorable mention, $250
  • Brianna Jones, CHS, honorable mention, $250
  • Angela Martinez, CHS, honorable mention, $250

In addition, Autumn Cordero of CHS and Lettie Raymond of CHS were selected to win a one-on-one Master Class with local professional artists Patty Rae Wellborn and Linda Stricklin.

The juried art competition offers an opportunity for every AP Studio Art student in AISD to submit artwork for a chance to earn a sport in a museum exhibition. Those selected for the exhibition then compete for the valuable college scholarships. The exhibition is a collaborative effort by AEF, AISD and The Grace Museum. All paintings and photography for the show are professionally framed.

A color catalog is to all Young Masters artists so they will have permanent documentation for their portfolio. The students are also be able to use the catalog and professional photography of their work as an important part of their college application submissions if they choose to pursue higher education in visual arts.

Studio Art teachers for AISD are Amanda Baldwin, Jason Clements, Sherry Griffith, Elizabeth Joy, Melody Kennedy and April Rifenburg.

Funding for Young Masters comes from several individuals, foundations and corporations, including a grant from HeArts for the Arts with the Abilene Cultural Arts Affairs Council.

Here is a full list of the students whose artwork were selected for the 2018 Young Masters Juried Art Exhibition

Vera Abbott, AHS; Chloe Batten, AHS; Tatum Bohannon, AHS; Ashlyn Brock, CHS; Jaylon Buckles, CHS; Liana Burris, CHS; Kennedy Carmichael, CHS; Xavier Chavez, AHS; Autum Cordero, CHS; Damian Cortez, CHS; Dora Davis, CHS; Kenzie Fortson, CHS; Danyel Franco, CHS; Aaliyah Garcia, AHS; Larissa Garcia, AHS; Caitie Girard, CHS; Hailey L. Hanson, CHS; Jane Hill, AHS; Jayce Dylan Jensen, CHS; Mikayla Johnson, CHS; Sorrell Johnston, CHS; Brianna Jones, CHS; Lyric Kincaid, AHS; Angela Martinez, CHS; Ivan Martinez, CHS; Kailie Morin, CHS; Keelee Poston, CHS; Lettie Raymond, CHS; Taylor Roberts, CHS; Dalila Rodriguez, AHS; Celeste Sanchez, AHS; Jaime Scudder, AHS; Matthew Shira, CHS; Abigail Smith, CHS; Brody Stanford, CHS; Victoria Stanford, CHS; Cynthia Bleu Taylor, CHS; Kenedy Underwood, CHS; Sylva Uwimana, CHS; Novia Ysabel Valerio, CHS; Hannah Vermillion, AHS; and Keira Zepeda, CHS;