Author: philipashby

HOMECOMING 2017: CHS Welcomes Two New Members of Hall of Fame

The induction of two members into the Hall of Fame, the crowning of the queen and Friday night football highlight 2017 Homecoming activities Sept. 22 at Cooper High School. Hall of Fame inductees are both 1988 graduates of Cooper – Jason Marshall, a Cougar baseball legend and currently the head coach at the University of Texas-San Antonio, and Chuck Spicer, president and CEO of the University of Oklahoma Medical System. They were introduced at a press conference in the CHS Auditorium and were guests of honor at the morning pep rally and later at a reception in the LRC. Alumni...

Read More

AHS Senior Named National Merit Semifinalist

Abilene High School senior Eliana Pigott has been named a National Semifinalist in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship competition, a feat accomplished by less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. Pigott, daughter of Kelly and Susan Pigott, is among the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists who will continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships to be awarded next spring. Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of Semifinalist regularly attain Finalist standing, and about half of Finalists earn the Merit Scholar title. Pigott’s older brother, Nathaniel, received...

Read More


WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux