Author: philipashby

Bassetti Teacher Attends Institute at National Gallery of Art

Bassetti Elementary School teacher Emily Fanning participated in the 2018 National Gallery of Art Teacher Institute on Storytelling and the Visual Arts held in July in Washington, D.C. Fanning, who teaches third grade, was one of only 52 participants chosen for the six-day seminar. The institute brings together K-12 teachers from across the country to explore the connection of storytelling to learning and the ways teachers can use art objects with storytelling activities in the classroom. For her participation, Fanning was awarded a National Gallery of Art fellowship. She has been a teacher in AISD for nine years, the...

Read More

Cooper’s Col. Shinkle Nominated for LifeChanger Award

Cooper High School senior aerospace science instructor Col. Steve Shinkle has been nominated for the 2018-2019 national LifeChanger of the Year award. Col. Shinkle, who was named AISD’s 2018 Secondary Teacher of the Year by the Abilene Education Foundation, is being recognized as a LifeChanger in his community for being a leader and positive role model. After retiring from 32 years of service in the USAF, he became a teacher in order to share his experiences with young people and help them become better versions of themselves. Beyond teaching the 130 students in Cooper’s Junior ROTC, a leadership and...

Read More

Hollywood Writer, Filmmaker to Appear at AHS Musical Production

A very special guest will be in the audience for the Saturday matinee performance of the musical “Bubble Boy” by the Abilene High School threatre department. Cinco Paul, the writer of the musical and co-author of the film it is based on, will be in attendance and will offer a “talkback” following the 2 p.m. show at the AHS Auditorium. Paul will discuss the process of writing and producing the musical, as well as his career as a Hollywood screenwriter and filmmaker. Paul is also the screenwriter for all three films of the popular “Despicable Me” animated franchise, and...

Read More

Lead Out Loud Conference 2018: Sharing & Learning

The second Lead Out Loud conference for more than 1,500 faculty and staff members covened at Cooper High School on August 14 with dozens of presenters and 425 sessions throughout the day. This one-day event is AISD’s own professional learning day where our experts – plus 60 acommunity guest presenters – share their knowledge and skills with the entire...

Read More

Convocation Kicks Off the 2018-2019 for AISD Staff

The official opening week of the 2018-2019 school year for employees culminated on August 16 with the annual AISD Convocation at Beltway Park Church. More than 2,400 staff members gathered to enjoy performances by student musical groups and the AISD Faculty & Staff Choir. Following the Superintendent’s Message by Dr. Young, nationally known author and speaker Jon Gordon gave the keynote...

Read More


WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux